Governing Board

The Tres Cantos Open Lab Foundation was established as a not-for-profit organisation and operates independently of GSK through its Governing Board and Trustees.

The Governing Board is comprised of world-leading experts in the field of research into diseases of the developing world who advise and guide the Foundation in meeting its objectives. The Board also ensures that projects selected are of a consistently high standard and address the three diseases areas. The Board includes the Trustees of the Foundation and is chaired by Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge.

Peter Piot, Director

Professor Peter Piot, Director, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, Prof Piot is the Director of the School and a Professor of Global Health. He is the Chair of the UK HMG Strategic...more

Alan Fairlamb, TCOLF Trustee

Professor Fairlamb is Head of the Division of Biological Chemistry and Drug Discovery at the University of Dundee. He obtained his degree in Medicine and PhD in Biochemistry at the University of Edinb...more

Carl Nathan, TCOLF Trustee

Carl Nathan, MD is R.A. Rees Pritchett Professor and chairman of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at Weill Cornell Medical College and co-chair of the Program in Immunology and Microbial ...more

Elizabeth Winzeler

Elizabeth Ann Winzeler is a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine with experience in academic and industrial antimicrobial drug discovery...more

Graeme Bilbe

Dr Bilbe has the overall responsibility for advancing the discovery and development of new treatments for neglected diseases and building DNDi’s project portfolio.Prior to joining DNDi in 2012, ...more

Jose Maria Romero, TCOLF Trustee

Jose-Maria Romero is responsible for the negotiation of worldwide deals with other pharmaceutical and biotech companies to access new products which complement and increase the value of GSK’s ph...more

Kip Guy

Dr R. Kip Guy is currently the Dean of Pharmacy and a Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, Kentucky, USA.Dr Guy obtained his BA in chemistry from Reed Colle...more

Mel Spigelman

Dr. Mel Spigelman is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Global Alliance for TB Drug Development (TB Alliance). Prior to being appointed President and CEO in 2009, Dr. Spigelman served fo...more

Nick Cammack

Nick Cammack was most recently Head of Exploratory Discovery at GSK, and previously Head of the Medicines Development Campus for Diseases ...more

Timothy Wells

Dr Timothy Wells joined Medicines for Malaria Venture in October 2007 as the Chief Scientific Officer. He has responsibility for the Research and Development Portfolio, which covers over 50 projects f...more